A nice example of the iconic American long rifle built in the shop of Peter White (1777-1834). He is believed to be the son of either Nicholas or John White who were both gunsmiths during the American Revolution.
Peter White was in Emmitsburg, Maryland, in 1800 and was likely a journeyman or apprentice under John Armstrong. By 1807, White was settled in Cumberland Valley Township. In 1819 he advertised that he had begun working in Uniontown “opposite the Market House”.
Though White died in 1834, one or more of his three sons carried on the family trade.
The barrel on this rifle is signed "Peter White", and the lock is signed "White/Peter". The latter indicated White likely crafted his own lock whereas many other gunsmiths and gunmakers of the day purchased imported locks or those made by local lock makers. The lock is also more slender than is often seen. As you can the rifle has standard blade and notch sights and a full length maple stock with mostly engraved brass furniture including the ornate patch box, gorgeous carving on the left side surrounding the cheek piece which has an oval silver inlay, and additional carving at the breech, ahead of the stock flats and behind the ramrod entry pipe.